How Did We Get to Steubenville?:Talking to Boys about Girls

April 9, 2013 at 3:51 am 1 comment

Elizabeth Chapin ~ ChapinChick

ohiostate-logoThis is the first post in a series on Talking to Boys about Girls.

I’ve never been to Steubenville. But, I am a Buckeye. I was born at The Ohio State University Hospital and I graduated from The Ohio State University. I imagine Steubenville is a lot like many other Midwest towns. Along with boasting the production of frequent college football champions, the Midwest is one region that boasts higher church attendance than most regions of the country. I wonder if the Steubenville boys who were convicted of rape in March 2013 went to church? If they did, would they have heard anything at church that would have helped them make different choices? Most of us are aware of the media oversexualization of girls (if not, I recommend So Sexy So Soon). What messages are boys getting in Sunday School and Youth Group to counter the media messages? Recently…

View original post 1,513 more words

Entry filed under: Talking About Sex.

When I was young…

1 Comment

Trackback this post


Checkin' it out...

  • 384 hits

