The Modesty Cover-Up

December 3, 2012 at 5:55 am 1 comment

When we picked her up from Sunday School, the teacher pulled me aside as my husband signed her out of class. She handed her craft to her dad, excited to show off her creative work. My husband struggled to interpret the meaning of the craft, so she explained it all to him while I chatted with her teacher. The teacher was concerned about her attire. That warm summer Sunday she was wearing an ankle-length, light blue spaghetti-strap dress that came with a lacey cap-sleeved short jacket, which she had decided not to wear. Her teacher told me he thought her bare shoulders were a problem and that she should cover up in the future. She was four years old.

Modesty is a hot topic in some circles.

Jonalyn Fincher blogged about Modesty and has spurred some interesting conversation. She says covering up is not the answer and “our bodies are not shameful triggers to lust.”

Another modesty post: Modesty Rules for Church Leaders. I am especially fascinated by the responses…

Here’s a roundup of blogs and articles about modesty by my friend Dan Brennan: Conversation on Beauty, Modesty, and Lust.

Have you ever been told to cover-up?

At what age did you start to worry about modesty?

How do your ideas about modesty differ from your parents?

Entry filed under: Talking About Sex.

1 Comment

  • 1. Anonymous  |  December 2, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    This first time I visited a youth group at my friend’s church, I had no idea there was a dress code. I got some really weird stares and dirty looks. I didn’t understand until I attended for a while and someone pulled me aside one Sunday to talk to me about my short skirts. It was really awkward.

Trackback this post


Checkin' it out...

  • 384 hits

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


